2016 NSBE Aerospace Systems Conference

Celestial Torch Awards


The 4th NSBE Celestial Torch Awards will honor a select group of African American aerospace professionals.  The highest aerospace-specific awards within NSBE, the Celestial Torch Awards seeks to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the aerospace industry in their respective fields and we will gather to celebrate their achievements.  Nominations are closed for 2016.  We look forward to honoring our recipients at the 2016 Celestial Torch Awards Banquet!  Begin thinking now about who you might like to nominate for 2018!


2014 Celestial Torch Awards Recipients:

Distinguished Engineer in Aerospace

Kwatsi Alibaruho

UTC Aerospace

Lifetime Achievement in Aerospace

Derek Anderson

The Boeing Company

Aerospace Pioneer of the Year

Captain Ed Dwight (USAF, Ret.)

America's First Black Astronaut Candidate

Outstanding Woman in Aerospace

Patricia Cowings

NASA Ames Research Center

Aerospace Entrepreneur of the Year

Joseph Polk

CEO Vantage Systems

Aerospace Technologist of the Year

Michael McCullar

Geo Controls and Seal of Valor

Outstanding Young Engineer in Aerospace

Paige Lewter

Naval Air Systems Command