The 5th NSBE Celestial Torch Awards will honor a select group of African American aerospace professionals.  The highest aerospace-specific awards within NSBE, the Celestial Torch Awards seeks to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the aerospace industry in their respective fields and we will gather to celebrate their achievements. Nominations are now open and can be downloaded here.  Submissions are due by midnight Eastern Time, April 30, 2018 and must be emailed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..  Paper submissions will not be accepted.  We look forward to honoring our recipients at the 2018 Celestial Torch Awards Banquet!


2016 Celestial Torch Awards Recipients:

Distinguished Engineer in Aerospace

Charles Bolden

NASA Administrator

Lifetime Achievement in Aerospace

Ernest Levert

Lockheed Martin Corporation

Aerospace Pioneer of the Year

Robert Rashford

CEO Genesis Engineering Solutions

Outstanding Woman in Aerospace

Linda Thomas

The Boeing Company

Aerospace Entrepreneur of the Year

Joseph Polk

CEO Vantage Systems

Aerospace Technologist of the Year

Kamwana Mwara

NASA Johnson Space Center

Outstanding Young Engineer in Aerospace

Sabrina Thompson

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center